This is the "Home" page of the "Theater Web Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theater Web Resources   Tags: theater  

List of web sites related to Theater.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cornish.edu/theaterweb Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Theater Web Resources


1. Major Theater Sites.

Oscar Brockett's Theatre Site

Voice of the Shuttle: DRAMA, THEATER, & PERFORMANCE ART STUDIES (includes Screenwriting)

The WWW Virtual Library : Theatre and Drama


2. Current Awareness

Theater Communications Group TCG


3. Associations and Organizations

Theatre Library Association list of Theatre Support Organizations


4. Dramaturgy

Dramaturgy Northwest

The Dramaturgy Network


5. Electronic journals and journal publisher sites>

 

ACTS FACTS - all the back issues have been indexed by the Smithsonian, and can be searched.  Click on Search in the menu bar at the top.  You will get a citation and abstract.  Cornish has the print copies of back issues in the library collection.

ArtsJournal.com weekday digest of arts and cultural journalism -- international in scope.

Millikin University List of Theatre Journals and Publications

Theatre and Drama Journals Online from the WWW Virtual Library. Choose "Journals online" from the menu.

VASTA, Voice and Speech Trainers Association. Newsletter Archives.

Additional titles:

Back Stage/Back Stage West

Playbill On-line

Playbill Vault


6. Theater History

 

The Art of Ancient Greek Theater Exhibition website from J. Paul Getty Museum.

Theater History on the Web Maintained by Jack Wolcott, retired UW School of Drama.

Theatre History Sites on the WWW Maintained by Oscar Brockett.

Theatre Dictionary  a video dictionary, produced by Theatre Development Fund (TDF)


7. Local and Northwest Theater Resources

Northwest Theatre Links University of Washington Drama Library.

Seattle Theatre Archives  via UW Libraries

PerformersCALLBOARD Email list for Seattle area actors. Auditions.

University of Washington Drama Library

Additional Links:

Dramaturgy Northwest

Northwest Playwrights Alliance

SeattleActor.com Stage Auditions, TV/Film, , Classes, Directors / Stage Managers, Tech/Design, Admin/Prod, Children Auditions, Scripts, Other Calls.

Seattle Stage

Theater Puget Sound Online


8. Shakespeare Resources

The Shakespeare Folios Electronic Library at Meisei University

Shakespeare Resources

Shakespeare's Monologues

Complete Works of William Shakespeare (full-text, printable, with glossary and search)

Encyclopedia Britannica's Guide to Shakespeare

University of Victoria Sites on Shakespeare and the Renaissance


9. Stage Combat

The Society of American Fight Directors (S.A.F.D)

Ring of Steel

The Blackfriar's Journal

Netsword Stage Combat Page


10. Accents

IDEA International Dialects of English Archive

      

    10. Online Script Resources

    Use these databases and websites to find plays that the Cornish Library may not have in its collection. 

    CAVEAT: These databases are mostly fee-based. You either must pay to download/purchase plays, or have a valid Seattle Public Library card to access databases.

    Questions?  Ask a Librarian !

    • FINDaPLAY.com
      The FINDaPLAY database is provided by Playscripts, Inc. as a free service. The FINDaPLAY database includes author, title, and publisher information for plays and musicals licensed by major dramatic publishers.
      Use the "Advanced Search" to search by DURATION, as well as title, author, etc.
    • indie theater now
      Curated, expanding digital library of plays by select indie playwrights, mostly NYC-based.
      Fee-based structure; you must pay to read scripts, but they remain in your digital library.
      "Browse Plays" and then "Browse by Cast Size & Technical Requirements" to find 10-Minute Plays. Not able to search by "One-Act."
    • Play Index (via SPL)  
        
      Access Play Index to find citations to 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. An SPL card is required to access this database.
      Use the Advanced Search; under "Genre," you'll find an option to search for "One-act plays."
    • Playscripts, Inc.
      Playscripts, Inc. publishes contemporary one-act (and full-length) plays. Choose a play from their top ten list, or run a targeted search.
      Read script samples for free online. However, you must pay to purchase scripts and performance rights.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip