This is the "Home" page of the "Artist Statements and Manifestos!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Artist Statements and Manifestos!   Tags: art  

Resources of manifestos created for Christy Johnson and Cable Griffith's AR 412 BFA Seminar
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cornish.edu/manifestos Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hello!

This website has been created specifically for Christy and Cable's AR 412 BFA Seminar class.  It contains books, websites and other resources that will help you as you write your Art Statement/Manifesto!!

As always, the Cornish Librarians are here to help you with your questions, concerns and the like.  We are here for you!  Bridget (who's profile is on the right) has 2 degrees in studio art, art education, and museums and has a great deal of experince in this area.  I worked in museums for many years and am happy to help you in your work.

Have fun!

Recommended Databases

Seattle Public Library Databases

Use your Seattle Public Library card number and PIN number to log in.

How do I get a card? You may apply online, then pick up card at branch. You are eligible for doing so if you:

  • Live, work, or own property in Seattle, Bothell or most of King County.
  • Are the spouse or underage dependent of someone who does.
  • Go to school in the above areas

See All Available Databases at Seattle Public Library

Art

      
     

    .

    What do you want to say to your audience beyond what your artwork will say to them?  What information do you want to share above what they can see, smell, feel via your work?

    This guide contains resources for exploring these ideas for your own artist statement and/or manifesto.

     

    Cornish Library Links

    • Art Full Text Complete full-text articles on art and design. Has peer-reviewed articles that are appropriate for use in a research paper!!
    • ARTstor Digital images and data supporting art and design as well as music, dance and theater history.
    • Oxford Art Online Grove Dictionary of Art and additional Oxford art resources.  Excellent for looking up artists (and more trustworthy than Wikipedia!) and for looking up art movements.
    • ProQuest Magazine and newspaper articles, includes full-text articles for printing or download. Also has peer-reviewed articles that are appropriate for use in a research paper!!
     

    Citing Sources

    1.  The Purdue OWL: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/ 

    • "The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material... Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects." 
    • Includes excerpts from the MLA 2009 Formatting and Style Guide.

    2.  MLA handbook for writers of research papers : Handbook for writers of research papers.  7th ed. 2009

    Location: Two copies, Book Stack / Reference
    Call Number: LB 2369 G53 2009 / Ref LB 2369 G53 2009


    3.  MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing.  3rd ed.  2008.

    Location: Two copies, Book Stack / Reference
    Call Number: PN 147 G444 2008 / Ref PN 147 G444 2008


    4.  Having trouble citing something?  See a librarian at the reference desk.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Bridget Nowlin
    Contact Info
    206-726-5126
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip