This is the "Home" page of the "Design - Web Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Design - Web Resources   Tags: design  

List of Design related web sites
Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cornish.edu/designweb Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Design Web Resources


1. Major Design Sites.

 

ADAM "The Art, Design, Architecture & Media Information Gateway, is a searchable catalogue of over 2500 Internet resources that have been carefully selected and catalogued by professional librarians for the benefit of the UK Higher Education community."

Core77 Design Network Links to two sites: "Core77.com contains extensive content features about product design, from calendar listings and links to design news and articles. Coroflot.com supplies ideal employment resources for all designers, including portfolio hosting, job listings, an international design firm directory, career advice and articles."

Design Community Discussion forums, web and other design resources.

DesignSite A good site for general design information and business tips

Virtual Design Library Produced at the Institute of Design , Umeå University, Sweden. Lists resources in: Industrial Design, Interaction Design, Graphic Design, and Environmental Design; as well as design schools and organizations.


2. Animation Web Sites

Animation on the World Wide Web


3. Associations and Organizations

See also International Design Sites which includes some international societies.

American Institute of Graphic Arts Major professional organization for Designers.

American Society of Furniture Designers

American Society of Interior Designers

Association of Professional Design Firms

Association of Women Industrial Designers "Professional organization addressing issues that women in the industrial design field face."

BCID British Columbia Industrial Design Association

Color Marketing Group, CMG "International association that forcasts colors for manufactured products."

Design Management Institute "Non-profit organization dedicated to demonstrating the strategic role of design in business and to improving the management and utilization of design."

Graphic Artists Guild "National union of illustrators, designers, web creators, production artists, surface designers and other creatives."

Industrial Designers Society of America National professional organization for industrial designers.

SIGGRAPH Special interest group of the professional association ACM (Association for Computer Machinery). SIGRAPH stands for Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques.

Society of Environmental Graphic Design "Interdisciplinary design association, founded in 1973 to promote the professional development and understanding of environmental graphic design."

Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators

Society of Illustrators

Society of Publication Designers

University & College Designers Association "UCDA is a professional organization committed to promoting excellence in visual communications for educational institutions; our members include designers and educators."


4. Architecture and Planning

American Institute of Architects' Profile on the Web

Architecture and Building: Net Resources Exhaustive index of architectural resources, compiled by ARLIS/NA member Jeanne A. Brown.

Cyburbia, Internet resources for the built environment

The Great Buildings Collection Online multimedia encyclopedia of world architecture

Index to Historic Preservation Periodicals (NTL Index) National Trust for Historic Preservation Library. After connecting, follow instructions.

PAIRC: Planning and Architecture Internet Resource Center  University of Buffalo School of Architecture & Planning.

Planning Resources on the Internet (UC Berkeley)


5. Book Arts

 

Aboutbookbinding.com

Bookarts.com Published by Page Two, Inc. Includes, Book Arts Directory, Book Arts Classified, and Book Arts Gallery.

The Book Arts Web

Lostcrafts.com


6. Competitions, Exhibitions

 

Workbook.com's calendar of contest deadlines and upcoming events relating to the graphic arts industry.


7. Directories

Workbook.com "...cross referenced searchable database of over 50,000 listings." Broad coverage of the graphic arts community: directors, agencies, studies, labs, photographers, illustrators, etc.


8. Electronic Journals and journal publisher sites.

 

Explanation: "Electronic Journals" are journals (aka magazines, periodicals, or serials) which are published and distributed exclusively in electronic format. You either have to visit a website or subscribe to an email list to receive the publication. Just like print journals, some are free and some are available only by paid subscription.

Many publishers of print journals have web sites. You'll find that many of these sites only provide information on how to subscribe to the print journal. However, some publishers do make selected articles available free of charge at their web sites along with links to other resources of interest to their readers. Some of these will be listed here if they have sufficient content to make the link worthwhile.

Architectural Record

Architecture Magazine

ArchitectureWeek

Architronic

Aridlands Newsletter

art-public.com: Public Art Online Newsletter

ArtsJournal.com weekday digest of arts and cultural journalism -- international in scope.

BRIX

Building Operating Management

Buildings Magazine Online

City of Bits

City Review

Civil Engineering Journals

Color Matters Site by J.L. Morton. The concept of color is approached from several disciplines: physiology, psychology, philosophy, and art. This web site provides some starting points for an exploration of color.

Communication Arts Partial content online version of the print journal by the same name.

CORE Industrial Design Network Electronic design magazine and resource.

Design-Engine From their "about" link: "DESIGN-ENGINE.COM is a resource for industrial designers to write and publish their ideas. Our target audience is not only ID students, professional Industrial Designers, and Mechanical Engineers, but anyone interested in design."

Design Intelligence

Document Design "This online journal explores the constantly evolving boundaries between text and graphics, authors and readers."

DT&G E-Magazine Design, Type & Graphics online magazine.

e Design Online

Echos du Patrimoine

EcoTecture:The Online Journal of Ecologic Design

Edinburgh Architecture Research

Electronic Journal of Information Technologies in Construction

Emigre "Emigre, Inc. is a digital type foundry, publisher and distributor of graphic design related software and printed materials... One of the first independent type foundries to establish itself centered around personal computer technology." Web site is mainly promotional, but lists back issues with summaries.

Engineering News-Record

Environmental Building News

Environmental Design and Construction

Frank R. Walker Company

Fuse UK based. "Launched in 1991, fuse is an interactive magazine that sets out to challenge our current ideas about typographic and visual language in an age of ever changing communications technology and media." This site offers excerpts from back issues.

GreenClips

Habitat, the Newsletter of the CTI Centre for the Built Environment

Harvard Design Magazine

Home Energy Magazine

Interiors & Sources

International Journal of Design Computing

Internet Library of Early Journals

Journal of Design Communication

kazys.net

Metropolis Online Partial text online version of the print publication.

Nexus Network Journal: Architecture and Mathematics Online

Online Planning

PLANETIZEN: Planning and Development News, Jobs, & Events

PlannersWeb

Planning Report: Insider's Guide to Managed Growth

Provocations

PubList Directory of periodicals including description, frequency, publisher, price, etc.

Rice Design Alliance

SchinkelNews

Terrain: A Journal of the Built & Natural Environments

Web Architecture Magazine


9. Furniture Design

 

Excite: Furniture Design

Furniture Meuebles Mobili Muebles Mobel Furniture resource site created by Pamela Lucas, a librarian from Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Tribu-Design Featuring their 20th Century Database, searchable by timeline, designer, or manufacturer.


10. Graphic Design

About.com's Graphic Design page Extensive site of web resources related to graphic design.


11. Illustration

 

Bud Plant's Illustrated Books Maintains a list of illustrators' biographies with accompanying reproductions of illustrations.

Directory of Illustration By The Graphic Artist's Guild. Over 1,000 illustrations from professional illustrators advertising in the directory.

The Drawing Board for Illustrators, Privately maintained site with resources for illustrators.

Early Illustrators of Children's Books from the 19th and 20th Centuries By Kay E. Vandergrift.

The I-Spot Showcasing illustrators work.


12. Image Databases

 

Art Images for College Teaching

Artcyclopedia Searchable index. This site attempts to offer a "comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources." They feature only sites where artists' work can be viewed online.

ARTstor Over 400,000 digital images. "The Charter Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture."
Licensed database. Available to Cornish student, faculty and staff only.

British Library Images Online

California State University World Art Kiosk "Over 35,000 images from throughout the world."

Carol Gerten Fine Art A virtual fine art gallery with more than 5,000 reproductions. Index of artists arranged alphabetically by name.

Corbis Commercial image vendor.

Digital Archive of American Architecture By Jeffrey Howe at Boston College. 17th - 20th century plus related links.

Digital Archive of Architecture European. By Jeffrey Howe at Boston College. Prehistoric - 20th century plus related links.

Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC) program for assessing the intellectual property status of a specific image.

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture University of Wisconsin.

Getty Search Gateway  "...allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids."  Also provides access to images in their Open Content Program.

Harvard University Art Museums Collections Online Click on Collections Online

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division

National Portrait Gallery, Portrait Search "Search more than 12,000 records from the collections of the National Portrait Gallery." Images available for some, not all.

New York Public Library Digital Image Gallery "...over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library."

University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections Historical, contemporary, plenty of visual and performing arts material. There's lots here. "Collections are primarily pictorial, although some have accompanying essays and text. Other media are presented, such as newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters and maps. The emphasis of these collections is on rare and unique materials."

VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) based at the Farnham Campus of the University College for the Creative Arts.  "...a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK."

The Web Gallery of Art "is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1750), currently containing over 7,300 reproductions. Biographies, commentaries, guided tours are available."

Wellcome Images  "...unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science."


13. Industrial Design

 

ASTM, American Society for Testing and Materials

CORE Industrial Design Network Electronic design magazine and resource.

ErgoWeb's Resource Center

ISO 9000 Translated into Plain English - by Praxiom Research From site: "Our web site introduces the ISO 9000 product design standards. It discusses quality assurance requirements and guidelines, and much more."

Thomas Register Online


14. Interior Design

 

Online Design Source

Interior Design Directory Extensive listings of interior design professionals and firms.  Also design articles, job postings, and information about interior design schools.

Landscape Architecture & Interior Design

Resources.com Self proclaimed, "Gateway to the Commercial Interiors Industry. -- linking Manufacturers, Architects, Designers, Facility Managers, Office Furniture Dealerships, Reps, Professional Associations, Colleges and Universities, Consultants, Service Providers, and the Technical Community."

The World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Furniture & Interior Design


15. International Design Sites

 

The Chartered Society of Designers UK based.

Design Council UK based.

Design France

Design Zentrum German design institution and home of the Red Dot Design Award.

Designers Institute of New Zealand

The Ergonomics Society UK based.

Finnish Design

International Council of Societies of Industrial Design - ICSID

Italian Idea

JIDPO Japan Industrial Design Promotion Organization (Site in English)

NID National Institute of Design India

Society of Graphic Designers of Canada

Swedish Industrial Design Foundation


16. Multi-Media Design

Web Developer's Virtual Library - Multimedia for the Web section

Whole Building Design Guide


17. Sustainable Design

 

Austin Green Building Program

Centre for Sustainable Design

Center for Sustainable Systems University of Michigan

Green Building News New and articles -- information about materials and design.

King County's Construction Recycling and Green Building Program

The Natural Step "...provides a visionary blueprint for a sustainable world." Sweden

o2 Design forum

US Green Building Council

World Watch Institute


18. Typography

 

Counterspace A website dedicated to typography and its history.

Emigre "...digital type foundry, publisher and distributor of graphic design related software and printed materials based in Northern California."

Typography Resources From Bookbuilders West, "an educational and professional resource for members of the western publishing community."


19. Web Design

 

HTML Resources on the Web Well maintained list at University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. Covers: General HTML Info | Design | Accessibility | Cascading Style Sheets | Images: Info | Images: Archives | Color | Tables | Metadata and Indexing | HTML Checkers/Validators | Serving Up Your Homepage | Publicizing Your Site | HTML Editors | Listservs/Newsgroups.

Web Developer's Virtual Library In their own words, offers: "A comprehensive illustrated encyclopedia of web technology, The WDVL is a well-organized goldmine of tutorials, examples, and links to great resources. It's for webmasters, web designers and Internet developers who are creating web sites with HTML, CGI, Java, JavaScript, DHTML, CSS, graphics, VRML, multimedia, animation, scripting. etc. The WDVL is one of the oldest web developer web sites, founded in December 1994 by Alan Richmond. The material is unbiased, vendor-neutral and standards-based. The site has won several major awards. The content is painstakingly written and cross-linked to create a unique Webmaster's Illustrated Encyclopedia."

Web Page Design for Designers A site about designing for the World Wide Web, with a particular emphasis on graphic design and content rather than on technology.


      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip