This is the "Home" page of the "Dance - Web Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dance - Web Resources   Tags: dance  

List of web sites related to Dance.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cornish.edu/danceweb Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Dance Web Resources


1. Major Dance Sites

criticaldance.com for ballet, modern and all forms of performance dance

CyberDance

Dance Links

Dancer Online

Library of Congress Internet Resources for Music, Theater, and Dance


2. Dance Companies on the Web

BalletCompanies.com International list of ballet companies.

Dance Europe International list of companies provided by Dance Europe Magazine.

Dance Links: A commercial site, but with lots of useful dance links.

Seattle Dance Companies
See below


3. Dance Schools, Colleges and Universities

Criticaldance.com click on "Dance Schools"

Dance Schools from Dance Links

University List from Dance Links


4. Professional Organizations and Associations

American College Dance Festival Association, ACDFA Sponsors regional and national dance festivals involving college and university dance departments.

American Dance Guild

American Dance Therapy Association

CEC Artslink "International arts exchange organization ..."

 Contact Improvisation  "Helping contact people connect..."

Dance Educators of America

Dance Films Association Information on annual film festival and reviews

Dance Heritage Coalition

Dance Notation Bureau General information, discussion group, links to classes

Dance USA Collegial organization of dance companies and presenters. Resources for employment and educational practices in dance

Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing, ISTD U.K. based dance examinations board

International Association for Dance Medicine and Science, IADMS international group of dance medicine practitioners, dance educators, and dancers.

International Guild of Musicians in Dance

National Association of Schools of Dance, NASD

National Dance Association, NDA

National Dance Education Organization, NDEO

National Performance Network "The NPN provides support for established and emerging artists in dance, music, theater, performance art, puppetry, and spoken word."

Sacred Dance Guild

Society for Dance Research Forum for the research of, "the diverse dance interests in the UK."

Society of Dance History Scholars

 

Dance Unions

American Guild of Musical Artists  "Labor organization that represents operatic, choral and dance workers in the United States."

American Guild of Variety Artists  "Represent performing artists and stage managers for live performances in the variety field."

Actors Equity  Labor union representing Actors and Stage Managers in the United States. 


5. Dance Career Information

Try a Google search for "dance careers." Also see the following sites.

Careers in Dance - Overview from the National Dance Teachers Association, NDTA, in England

Dance and Choreography Careers from Career Overview

Dance Therapist career overview from Association of Dance Therapy.

Dancers and Choreographers career overview from Collegegrad.com.

Dancers and Choreographers career overview from the U.S. Dept. of Labor; describes nature of work, working conditions, qualifications, job outlook, salary, etc.

Salary

Bureau of Labor Statistics, Wages by Area and Occupation

Bureau of Labor Statistics, State & Local Employment Statistics

Salary.com

Salary Expert

Cost of Living and Relocation Websites

United States Cities

Cost of Living Comparison Calculator- Compare equivalent salaries based the cost of living in two American cities, the city you are moving from and the city you may be moving to. From Bankrate.com.

Homestore Salary Calculator - Compare the cost of living in several hundred cities throughout the world.

Salary Comparison Calculator- Calculate salary equivalents between cities based on local cost of living factors. From Monstermoving.com.

Money: Best Places to Live - Money magazine's annual survey of cities in the United States, with rankings and an interactive search tool to find the best places for you. Cost of living comparison.

International

International salary and cost of living comparisons takes time and money to compile and are therefore valuable. Companies that compile this data charge money for custom reports. As an alternative, try doing a web search for "cost of living" and "country or city name." You may find some material at a travel or government site that will help.

Just Landed Survival information for people who are moving to other countries. Choose a country, select the country "guide" for cost of living and many other resources about relocating.

Transitions Abroad Information on work, study, travel and living an a wide variety of different countries.


6. Dance Research

 

CORD, Congress on Research in Dance

European Dance Research Information Directory "English-language directory of European institutions and individuals engaged in dance research, history, theory, documentation..."

Institute for Historical Dance Practice Their mission is to, "research, preserve and perform social and theatrical dances of Western Europe between 1450 and 1920." Links to other historical dance sites.

Laban/Bartenieff Institute of Movement Studies

Library of Congress Performing Arts Reading Room

The Dance Heritage Coalition 

New York Public Library Dance Collection Catalog CATNYP

The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts Jerome Robbins Dance Division

SIBMAS International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions


7. Funding

Beyond Dance Adcance: Dance Funding Resources.

Dance Links List of dance funding resources.

Dance Magazine Scholarship Guide Click on Scholarship Guide link.

The Foundation Center Requires registration for login and password. Search on "dance." Covers all types of funding organizations.

National Assembly of State Arts Agencies Links to all the state arts agencies.

Some Specific Funding Sources

Artist Trust Seattle

Fulbright Student Grants For post Baccalaureate (B.A./B.S.) students. "...the largest U.S. international exchange program offering opportunities for students, scholars, and professionals to undertake international graduate study, advanced research, university teaching, and teaching in elementary and secondary schools worldwide."

IIE Passport.org - Institute of International Education Study abroad dirctory for the IEE, a higher education and professional exchange agency. Administers over 200 international exchange programs, including the Fulbright Program.

King County Arts Commission

National Endowment for the Arts Dance page

Seattle Arts Commission

Washington State Arts Commission


8. Electronic Journals

"Electronic Journals" are journals, magazines or periodicals published and distributed in electronic format. Some of the links here are true e-journals. Others are publisher web sites which exist primarily to promote subscriptions to their print journals. We've included these if they include sample articles along with items of interest to readers. Newspapers also included.

ArtsJournal.com weekday digest of arts and cultural journalism -- international in scope.

Ballet Alert Online from publisher of Dance View.

Culture Kiosque - Dance European

DanceArt.com

Dance Insider

Dance Current Canadian

Dance Magazine Excerpts from the print publication.

Dance Teacher Excerpts from the print publication.

Dancing Times UK

International Journal of Screendance UK

New York Times - Arts - Dance

Pointe Magazine

Seattle Times - Arts and Entertainment

Village Voice - Dance

Voice of Dance


9. Dance Video Archives - online

Jacobs Pillow Dance Interactive  Performance excerpts from the 1930's to the present.

OntheBoards.tv Only available from on-campus computers. Streaming video of contemporary dance, theater, music and more. Go to “Video On Demand” tab for complete list.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia - Digital Collections & Programs, Library of Congress

WGBH Media Library and Archives -Open Vault - Dance Videos


10. International Dance -- Resources and Schools.

These are just a few links to get you started on your international dance research.

How to fund it...

Dance Magazine Scholarship Guide Click on Scholarship Guide link.

Dance Europe Magazine List of competitions and scholarships.

European Scholarship Programme for Contemporary Dance 50 scholarships for a 5 week summer residency in Vienna, mainly for European applicants, but also for some non-Europeans.

Fulbright Program for U.S. Students For post Baccalaureate (B.A./B.S.) students. Go to the "Program Overview" section to read about eligibility and description of the Fulbright grants. "...the largest U.S. international exchange program offering opportunities for students, scholars, and professionals to undertake international graduate study, advanced research, university teaching, and teaching in elementary and secondary schools worldwide."

IIE Passport.org - Institute of International Education Study abroad dirctory for the IEE, a higher education and professional exchange agency. Administers over 200 international exchange programs, including the Fulbright Program.

International lists

International Dance Resources

Balletcompanies.com "...over 3000 links to ballet and dance companies all over the world."

Ballettanz magazine (German language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Some good links schools, companies, and festivals.

Ballet and Dance companies listed in Wikipedia

Contact Collaborations' Dance Map Classified ads, lists dance activities, centers, and services worldwide.

International Council of Dance Site

Europe

Dance Europe Magazine Lists schools, summer courses, festivals and auditions.

Dance Web Europe Non-profit organization acting as, "an exchange platform involving dance institutions, artists, producers, companies and festival directors and to initiate projects crossing artistic and national boundaries."

ENICPA, European Network of Information Centres for the Performing Arts European festivals, venues, publications, training opportunities and information centres for arts professionals world wide. Search database by country, genre (ballet or contemporary) or category (festival, training opportunities, venues, etc.)

Amsterdam

Amsterdam Maastricht Summer University

de Theaterschool at the Amsterdam School of the Arts Multiple dance programs.

Austria

Impulstanz Based in Vienna. Organizes workshops and annual contemporary dance festival. Offers a current events database, newsletter and email list.

Vienna Dance Center

ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival, Vienna, Austria

Belgium

Contredanse (French language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Lists schools, auditions, festivals, conferences and more. Brussels.

Canada

The Dance Centre Vancouver, BC

England - See United Kingdom

Finland

Finnish Dance Information Centre (Finnish language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
"...provides information about domestic and foreign festivals and events, dance training available in Finland and abroad, and about scholarships to applicants. The calendar of events... provides information about dance perfomances arranged in Finland."

Kuopio Dance Festival

France

ARTOTAL (French language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Arts information site. Click on "Danse. "Lists dance companies, festivals and other dance sites in France and beyond.

ladanse.com (French language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
French & World Dance crossroads website. News, refletions and thought around dance & cultural world...

Le Centre National de la Danse (CND) (French Language - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Centre National de la danse.

Paris Fall Festival

Germany

Cologne Summer Academy (German language site) See English language option on page.

Leipzig Festival (German language site) See English language option on page.

Goethe Institut - Dance in Germany.

The Sophiensæle (German language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
"One of the most successful production and play places for freely produced contemporary theatres -, dance and music projects in the German-speaking countries." In Berlin.

Tanzfabrik Berlin (German language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
School, workshops.

Tanzhaus NRW, Düsseldorf (German language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
School and festival in Düsseldorf.

TanzNetz (German language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)

Tantztheater (German language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)

Ireland

SODA, Stance on Dance Artists "...bringing top professional arts and entertainment personnel from around Ireland to deliver practical dance activities." Varied resources. Lists of Irish dance companies and dance schools.

Italy

Danza.it Magazine (Italian language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Online magazine of dance and dance schools in Italy.

Luxemburg

Luxemburg Dance (French language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Le Centre de Création Chorégraphique Luxembourgeois. Contemporary dance theater and annual festival.

Sweden

Dansens Hus (Swedish language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Dance venue, festival and company. Stockholm.

Rorelsen (Swedish language site - Translated to English using Google Translate)
Classes, etc., Malmo.

Switzerland

SiWiC The Swiss International Coaching Project for Choreographers. Zurich. (Schweizerischer internationaler Weiterbildungskurs in Choreographie - SiWiC)

United Kingdom

Dance UK Dance advocacy

Dance Schools in the United Kingdom List compiled in Wikipedia.

Dance Teachers Listings Directory of teachers and resources for dance teachers.

Laban Centre Offers undergreaduate, graduate and professional training in dance. Short courses also available. Extensive new facilities with theaters and studios. Funded largely by the Arts Council England with National Lottery funds. London.

Language of Dance Centre "The centre contains one of the largest libraries on Movement Study, Dance Notation and Dance Theory in London, and is the production venue of new dance publications on a regular basis." Information on classes and publications. London.

London Dance Provides dance information for London.

National Resource Centre for Dance based at the University of Surrey.

The Place London dance center.

University of Surrey - Department of Dance Studies

 


11. US Dance

 

To find dance venues in various cities try: Coast to Coast Tickets and search their dance section.

Boston

Boston Dance Alliance

California

   California Dance Network

Chicago

Dance Chicago

New York

Dance/NYC

NYC Dance

Los Angeles

Dance Resource Center of Greater Los Angeles

Philadelphia

PhiladelphiaDANCE.org

San Francisco

BayDance.com

Dancer's Group

Dance Theater Workshop

ODC/Dance

SF Dance Center


12. Seattle Dance

Artist Trust Northwest arts organization

Centrum

On the Boards Contemporary Seattle performance center

Seattle Arts Commission Directory of Arts Organizations address and phone directory

Seattle Dance Net for Seattle dance information.

Seattle Dance Companies

ARC Dance Productions

Better Biscuit Dance
3234 S. Ferdinand St.
Seattle, WA. 98118
(206) 722-7983

Chamber Dance Company

Crispin Spaeth Dance Group
1122 E. Pike St. #1311
Seattle, WA 98122-3918
(206) 324-8109

d9 Dance Collective

Dance Fremont

Lelavision

Lingo Dancetheater

Mary Sheldon Scott/Jarrad Powell Performance

Pat Graney Company

Pacific Northwest Ballet

Pyrosutra - Fire Dancing

SD Prism Dance Theatre

Seattle Early Dance

Spectrum Dance Theater

Seattle Folk Dancing

University of Washington Dance Events

Velocity Dance Center


13. Miscellaneous and Special Interest

An American Ballroom Companion Dance Instruction Manuals ca. 1490 1920.  American Memory Project, Library of Congress.

Dance Therapy 

Dance history timeline

Dance and Technology Zone

Rendance homepage Renaissance dance.


14. Dance Festivals and Workshops

NORTHWEST

Dance Art Group: Seattle Festival of Alternative Dance, Seattle, WA

Northwest Dance Project, Portland, OR

Strictly Seattle/Velocity Dance Center, Seattle, WA  

NEW YORK

Mark Morris Dance Group

Martha Graham Center of Contemporary Dance - Winter & Summer Intensive

Paul Taylor Dance Company - Winter & Summer Intensives

NATIONAL

American Dance Festival, Durham, North Carolina

Bates Dance Festival, Lewiston, Maine

Boulder Jazz Dance Workshop, Boulder, CO

Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Chicago, IL

Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, Becket, MA

Perry Mansfield, Steamboat Springs, CO

River North Dance Chicago, Chicago, IL

American Dance Festival

Bates Dance Festival contemporary dance festival.

California State University (CSU) Summer Arts

Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival

White Mountain Summer Dance Festival

INTERNATIONAL

See International Dance section for more European and other Non-US festivals.


15. Audition and Job Notices

Aboutdance.com

American Dance Guild

Answers4Dancers Audition section.

Backstage.com Also see Backstage West : The Performing Arts Weekly in the Cornish Library's newspaper section. Lists jobs for dancers as well as actors.

Casting Call US  The largest Free on-line database.

Dance.net

Dance Europe Magazine, Jobs / Auditions

Dance USA, Jobs and Auditions

Dancer Pro


16. Dance Discussion Groups

 

DANCE LISTSERVS: (subscription email lists)

American Dance Therapy Association
to subscribe: ListProc@list.umaryland.edu message: subscribe ADTA firstname lastname
to post: adta@list.umaryland.edu

CMAPlus (discussion on Laban Movement Analysis)
to subscribe: Mailserv@denison.edu message: subscribe CMAPlus
to post: CMAPLUS@DENISON.EDU

Dance-Ballet (discussion, mostly with students, including nutrition and technique)

Dance Heritage Coalition (good resource for conference announcements and scholarly discussion)
to subscribe: LISTSERV@LOC.GOV include message: sub Dance-HC
to post: DANCE-HC@LC.GOV

Dance History Teachers
to subscribe: listproc@lists.fsu.edu message: subscribe dhtdg@lists.fsu.edu your name.
to post: dhtdg@lists.fsu.edu

Dance Librarians Discussion Group (you don't need to be a librarian)
to subscribe: LISTSERV@IUBVM.UCS.INDIANA.EDU include message: subscribe DLDG
to post: DLDG-L@listserv.indiana.edu

Dance-Tech (discussion on dance and technology, including, but not limited to computers)
to subscribe: listserver@lists.acs.ohio-state.edu message: subscribe dance-tech firstname lastname
to post: dance-tech@lists.acs.ohio-state.edu

International and Folkdance Listserv (they put out a monster digest/newsletter)
to subscribe: LISTSERV@HEARN.NIC.SURFNET.NL message: subscribe DANCE-L
to post: DANCE-L@NIC.SURFNET.NL
Web archives http://www.lists.ufl.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A1=ind0404&L=folkdanc

LabanTalk (discussion on Labanotation)
to subscribe: listserver@lists.acs.ohio-state.edu message: subscribe LabanTalk Firstname Lastname
to post: LabanTalk@lists.acs.ohio-state.edu

Performance Art Listserve (run out of the NYU Performance Studies program, excellent discussion of PA issues, including dance)
to subscribe: listproc@lists.nyu.edu include message: subscribe Perform-L
to post: perform-l@lists.nyu.edu

Popular Culture Association (all aspects of popular culture/ lots of traffic)
to subscribe: LISTSERV@h-net.msu.edu message: SUBSCRIBE H-PCAACA firstname lastname, institution
to post: H-PCAACA@msu.edu

Renaissance Listserv (runs the gamut between scholars like Julia Sutton and avocational dancers from the Society for Creative Anachronism)
subscribe through their website http://www.rendance.org/list.html
to post: RENDANCE@MORGAN.UCS.MUN.CA

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip