This is the "Home" page of the "Art - Web Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art - Web Resources   Tags: art  

List of art related web sites.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cornish.edu/artweb Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Visual Arts Web Resources

1. Major Art Sites

Art on the Web "1,200+ links on art and architecture"

Artcyclopedia The Fine Art Search Engine. Provides "references to sites on the World Wide Web where artists' works can be viewed online."

Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web Karen Bouchard, Brown University.

Voice of the Shuttle Art and Art History Page

World Wide Arts Resources Founded by Markus Kruse. Gateway to a wide variety of visual arts resources on the web.


2. Associations and Organizations

American Institute of Architects, AIA

American Council for the Arts ARTS USA is the electronic site, complete with 4,000 arts policy documents, funding and online resources for visual artists, advocacy information, and a discussion group

American Print Alliance, APA A non-profit consortium of printmakers' councils.

American Society for Aesthetics.

Art Libraries Society of North America, ARLIS/NA

College Art Association, CAA

Heritage Preservation, The National Institute for Conservation

Visual Resources Association, VRA,


3. Art Galleries

Art Collecting.com Gallery Guides for Seattle and Washington State.

Art Guide Northwest's Gallery Index Comprehensive directory of local and regional art galleries.

Art Sites and Galleries from Art on the Web site

ArtInfo - Gallery guide

Artline Links to dealers' associations, gallery exhibits, art fairs and events.

Preview Gallery guide for Washington, Oregon, British Columbia and Alberta.


4. Art Museums

Area Museums

Art Guide Northwest's Museum Index Directory of local and regional art museums.

Art Museum Network International listing of museums in alphabetical order. Also links to AMICO, exCALENDAR, and the Association of Art Museum Directors.

WWW Virtual Library Museums Pages International listing of museums -- broad subject scope, including all types of museums, not just visual arts.


5. Competitions, Exhibitions

Art Deadlines List Juried exhibitions and other Artist Opportunities

Artline Links to dealers' associations, gallery exhibits, art fairs and events.


6. Research, Funding and Arts Education Sites

Artist Trust "...has three programs offering direct support to individual artists in Washington State: Fellowships and GAPs (Grants for Artist Projects) and the Artist Trust Lifetime Achievement Award for Women Visual Artists."

ArtsEdge  A collaboration between the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts (with support from the U. S. Department of Education), ArtsEdge provides links to a wealth of arts education information. Teachers may visit the Curriculum Studio for ideas and read interviews of many different arts education guests.

Artswire - A program of the New York Foundation for the Arts. A communications network for the arts community including information on national and regional policy, grants, and programs.

The Foundation Center Very broad, comprehensive gateway to philanthropic resources on the Web. To zero in on arts resources, choose the "SEARCHZONE" and enter key words: visual arts, painting, etc. as applicable to the topic you wish to search.

J. Paul Getty Trust

King County 4Culture Resources and funding for Arts, Heritage, Preservation and Public Art.

NEANational Endowment for the Arts Three main components: Guide to the NEA (grants programs), Arts Resource Center (catalogue of publications, many free of charge), and Arts Community (hyperlinked periodical).

Seattle Office of Arts & Cultural Affairs

U.S. General Services Administration, Public Building Service's Art in Architecture Program   Site includes Art-in-Architecture, Fine Arts, and Historic Federal Buildings inventories; databases searchable by locale and artist's name.

Washington State Arts Commission


7. Electronic Journals and journal publisher sites

Explanation: "Electronic Journals" are journals (aka magazines, periodicals, or serials) which are published and distributed exclusively in electronic format. Some of the links here are true e-journals. Others are publisher web sites which exist primarily to promote subscriptions to their print journals. We've included these here if they include sample articles along with items of interest to readers. Newspapers also included.

Afterimage A Journal of Media Arts and Cultural Criticism.

AIGA Journal of Graphic Design The professional association for design. The place design professionals turn to first to exchange ideas and information, participate in critical analysis and research and advance education and ethical practice.

American Craft The American Craft Council website.

American Style Craft art made in America by artists who create the world's finest art glass, pottery, ceramic sculpture, designer jewelry, studio furniture, fine gifts and wearable art.

Applied Arts Canada’s premier magazine of visual communications.

Architectstore Links to over 100 Architecture Magazines.

Architectural Review The worlds favorite architectural magazine.

Architronic A scholarly refereed journal, exploring the new ranges of architectural communication available through digital media.

AN Magazine For and about professional visual artists and their practice.

Art Calendar The Business Magazine for Visual Artists.

Art Documentation Journal of the Art Libraries Society of North America.

Art News Online edition of the print journal.

Art/Quilt Magazine An Internet Mail List for Contemporary Quilters.

Art Review The leading international contemporary art and style magazine.

ArtDaily The First Art Newspaper on the Net.

ARTFaces -ARTPlaces A Unique Art Gallery for Art and Artists on the Internet.

artfocus Art related newsletter and infoline.

Artforum

The Artist Inspiration, instruction and practical ideas for all artists.

ArtNet.com Magazine

Arts Business Provides complete art services, art appraisals, art price data, news, articles, and market information to art collectors, artists, and fine arts professionals.

ArtsJournal The Daily Digest of Arts, Culture & Ideas.

ARTTalk Informative articles that deal with a variety of subjects such as drawing, painting, printmaking, sculpture, ceramics, matting and framing, arts and crafts, and more.

Artwork Art newsletter serving Northern England.

Baseline International typographics magazine.

BOMB Facilitating conversations between artists of all stripes: painters, actors, poets, directors, musicians, novelists, sculptors.

British Journal of Photography

Burlington Magazine World's leading monthly publication devoted to the fine and decorative arts.

C: International Contemporary Art Canada's premier magazine on international contemporary art.

Ceramic Review Practical and critical features on contemporary ceramic art and craft from around the world.

Ceramics: Art and Perception A dedicated magazine on ceramic art.

Ceramics Monthly Articles on potters and ceramics artists from throughout the world, exhibitions, and production processes, as well as critical commentary, book and video reviews, clay and glaze recipes, kiln designs and firing techniques, advice from experts in the field, and ads for available materials and equipment.

Ceramics TECHNICAL Sets the standard as a dedicated magazine on ceramic art.

Circa Ireland 's leading magazine for contemporary visual arts and culture.

Communication Arts

Crafts The UK’s national organisation for the promotion of contemporary crafts.

The Crafts Report Established in 1975, a monthly business magazine for the crafts professional.

Design DK Danish Design Center.

Design Management Journal The Design Management Journal is devoted to articles and case studies exploring how design – in products, communication, and environments – is an essential resource, a component of every organization that can be effectively managed.

Digitalarti Digitalarti welcomes digital art pros, artists, festival organizers, journalists, collectors, galleries, institutions, digital art fans and all festival-goers around the world.  

Dispatches Arts Council of England.

Emigre A digital type foundry, publisher and distributor of graphic design related software and printed materials based in Northern California.

Eyeline Contemporary Visual Arts.

Fine Art Forum The longest running arts magazine on the Internet.

Flash Art The world’s leading art magazine.

frieze Europe 's leading contemporary art and culture publication.

Galleries The UK's largest circulating monthly Art Listings magazine, describing current exhibitions and stock of over 500 commercial and public art galleries, galleries for hire and art services.

Getty Search Gateway  "...allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids."  Also provides access to images in their Open Content Program. 

Glass Craftsman

GLASS: The Urban Glass Quarterly

Global Museum The international museum webzine.

HOW The graphic design community’s trusted source for creative inspiration, business advice and tools of the trade.

Innovation The Industrial Designers of America (IDSA) is the voice of the industrial design profession, advancing the quality and positive impact of design.

Internet ArtResources Includes reviews, articles, views of private and corporate collections, searchable database of artists, galleries, and museums.

Journal of Contemporary Art Online projects, portfolios, interviews.

Keramik Magazin German Ceramics Resources

Kunsthandwerk & Design German Design Magazine.

Leonardo Journal of the International Society of the Arts, Sciences and Technology.

Letter Arts Review The preeminent magazine for calligraphers and lettering artists.

Live Art Magazine

London Art Contemporary art for sale on the internet.

Make The Magazine of Women's Art.

Metropolis Examines contemporary life through design--architecture, interior design, product design, graphic design, crafts, planning, and preservation.

Metropolitan Museum of Art - MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for almost every title, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met bibliographies by author, theme, or keyword. Current titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost.

Mute Culture and Politics after the Net.

n.paradoxa International feminist art journal.

Postmodern Culture Interdisciplinary criticism; issues back to 1990.

Pottery Making Illustrated Practical information from experts and professionals presented in a well-illustrated format dealing with every aspect of pottery making, such as throwing, handbuilding, firing, clays, glazes, tools, and equipment.

Print America’s Graphic Design Magazine.

Raw Vision Outsider Art.

RSA Journal The Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures & Commerce.

Sculpture

Source The magazine for contemporary photography in Britain and Ireland.

Studio Potter A non-profit organization dedicated to the service of the international community of ceramic artists and craftspeople.

Textile Forum European Textile Network.

Umbrella

VM + SD: Visual Merchandising and Store Design Complete Retail Design and Visual Merchandising Resource.

 


9. Art History

Art History Resources on the World Wide Web Created by Chris Whitcombe, Professor, Art History, Sweet Briar College.

The Getty Vocabulary Program, working closely with the Getty Standards Program, builds, maintains, and disseminates vocabulary tools for the visual arts and architecture. The vocabularies produced by the Getty are the Art & Architecture Thesaurus(r) (AAT), the Union List of Artist Names(r) (ULAN) (contains around 293,000 names and other information about 120,000 artists), and the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names(tm) (TGN).

Mother of All Art History Links Pages Hard to argue with a title like that. Maintained by Patrick Young with the help of graduate students at the Department of the History of Art at the University of Michigan.

Voice of the Shuttle Art and Art History Page


8. Image Databases

API Art Photo Index  Database of contemporary photographers' work.

Art Images for College Teaching

Artcyclopedia Searchable index. This site attempts to offer a "comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources." They feature only sites where artists' work can be viewed online.

ARTstor Over a million digital images. "The Charter Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture."Licensed database. Available to Cornish student, faculty and staff only.

British Library Images Online

California State University World Art Kiosk "Over 35,000 images from throughout the world."

Carol Gerten Fine Art A virtual fine art gallery with more than 5,000 reproductions. Index of artists arranged alphabetically by name.

The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is a database registering antique monuments that were known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images, and related information about locations, persons and periods as well as bibliographic data.

Critical Mass - Photolucida Database of contemporary photographers' work.

Corbis Commercial image vendor.

Digital Archive of American Architecture By Jeffrey Howe at Boston College. 17th - 20th century plus related links.

Digital Archive of Architecture European. By Jeffrey Howe at Boston College. Prehistoric - 20th century plus related links.

Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC) program for assessing the intellectual property status of a specific image.

Getty Search Gateway  "...

llows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. - See more at: http://search.getty.edu/gateway/about.html#sthash.ZEAszqkR.dpuf

Google Art Project A collaboration with art museums to enable people to discover and view artworks online in great detail.  Also 3-D museum tours.

Harvard University Art Museums Collections Online Click on Collections Online

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division

National Portrait Gallery, Portrait Search "Search more than 12,000 records from the collections of the National Portrait Gallery." Images available for some, not all.

New York Public Library Digital Image Gallery "...over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library."

TinEye Reverse Image Search "Reverse image search engine. It finds out where an image came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or if there is a higher resolution version."

University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections Historical, contemporary, plenty of visual and performing arts material. There's lots here. "Collections are primarily pictorial, although some have accompanying essays and text. Other media are presented, such as newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters and maps. The emphasis of these collections is on rare and unique materials."

Your Paintings UK national painting collections online.

VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) based at the Farnham Campus of the University College for the Creative Arts.  "...a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK."

The Web Gallery of Art "is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1750), currently containing over 7,300 reproductions. Biographies, commentaries, guided tours are available."

Wellcome Images  "...unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science."


10. Drawing

Drawing Notebook maintained at noteaccess.com

The Drawing Site maintained by Michael Miller

Drawing/Sketching at About.com


11. Painting

About.com section on painting maintained by Calli Soules

Yahoo list of painters


12. Papermaking

Hand Papermaking, Inc. "...non-profit organization dedicated to advancing traditional and contemporary ideas in the art of hand papermaking through publications and other educational formats."

Hand Papermaking Web Ring owned by Akua Lezli Hope.

International Association of Hand Papermakers and Paper Artists (IAPMA)


13. Photography

George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film. Information about their collections and related photography web sites. See their timeline of photography.

A History of Photography from its beginnings till the 1920s by Dr. Robert Leggat.

Masters of Photography

Photography at About.com


14. Print Art

Dictionary of Printmaking Terms from the Philadelphia Print Shop.

Printmakers WebRing Scroll down the page, past the eligibility info, to find webring links to other sites of interest to printmakers.


15. Sculpture

1200 Years of Sculpture Thais in 2000. English version of Italian site with image gallery. Romanesque through 20th Century.

International Sculpture Center

The Sculpture Center

Sculptor.org Personal web site by Richard Collins. "Here are resources related to sculpture on and off the internet."


16. Timelines

Chronology of Japan's Fine Arts

Eighteenth Century Chronology

Exploring Ancient World Cultures: "The EAWC Internet Index tracks a variety of resources that are relevant to ancient and medieval times and that might prove useful to students and teachers who are engaged in serious study. It is divided into five sub-indices: a chronology, an essay index, an image index, an internet site index and a primary text index. Each of these is further divided into sections, one for each of the cultures represented: the Near East, India, Egypt, China, Greece, Rome, Early Islam and Medieval Europe." From University of Evansville.

Greek Chronology

Modernism Timeline: (1890-1940)

Native American Fine Art Movement: Timeline

Romantic Chronology

Russian History Chronology

Timeline of Art History From the Metropolitan Museum of Art.


17. Watercolor

Watercolor Online

Watercolor Painting


18. Art Related Listservs

AAT-L, Art & Architecture Thesaurus; to subscribe send e-mail to listerv@listserv.uic.edu
AMART-L, Historians and scholars of American art; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@cunyvm.cuny.edu
ARCHIVES, Archivists, librarians, information specialists; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@miamiu.acs.muohio.edu
ARLIS-L, Art librarians; To subscribe send e-mail to listserv@lsv.uky.edu
Art-Clips, Weekly news items; To subscribe, send e-mail to danyaon@savvy.com with the subject "Subscribe Art-Clips" and
include your full name in the body of the message.
ARTCRIT, Art Criticism Discussion Forum; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@yorkvm1.bitnet
CAAH, Consortium of Art and Architecture Historians; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@pucc.bitnet (subscribers must
indicate their areas of interest and affiliations to the listowner)
ConsDist, Conservators and conservation professionals; to subscribe, send e-mail to consdist-request@lindy.stanford.edu
IMAGELIB-L, Imaging in libraries; to subscribe send e-mail to listserv@listserv.arizona.edu
MUSEUM-L, Museum staff; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@home.ease.lsoft.com
PHOTOHST, History of photography; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@asuvm.inre.asu.edu
PRINTS-L, Prints and printmaking; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@ukanvm.cc.ukans.edu
ROCK-ART, Paleolithic art; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@asuvm.inre.asu.edu
VRA-L, Visual resources curators; to subscribe, send e-mail to listserv@uafsysb.uark.edu


19. Local Art Resources

ARLIS NW Art Libraries Society of North America, Northwest Chapter. The chapter directory lists art libraries in the pacific northwest.

Art Access Seattle based, "...monthly listings for the visual arts, dance, music, and theater."

Art Guide Northwest Online version of the print publication. Comprehensive regional directory of galleries and museums as well as current events.

Seattle Office of Arts & Cultural Affairs Links to financial and human resources.

Art Space Non-profit group, "providing information and resources regarding space for artists of all disciplines."

Artist Trust Information, grants, resources for visual and performing artists.

King County 4Culture Resources and funding for Arts, Heritage, Preservation and Public Art.

Seattle Office of Arts & Cultural Affairs (formerly the Seattle Arts Commission)

Washington State Arts Commission


20.The Business of Art

Building Portfolios from Arts Resource Net

The Business of Art from Arts Resource Net

Career Development site from College Art Association.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip